Back to top

Who Is the AFPC?

The Alaska Food Policy Council’s members include a broad cross-section of Alaskans and organizations. Our members include restauranteurs and farmers, elementary school teachers and medical physicians, architects and bankers, nutritionists and agricultural agency administrators.

AFPC Governing Board Members

Charles Bingham                                      Board President, Sitka Local Foods Network, Sitka

Melissa Chlupach                              
Dietetics & Nutrition Assistant Professor, University of Alaska Anchorage

Danny Consenstein (Treasurer)
Food System Consultant, Anchorage

Jo Dawson  (ex-officio)                             Child Nutrition Program Manager, Alaska Department of Education and Early Development, Juneau

Cara Durr
Director of Public Engagement,
Food Bank of Alaska, Anchorage

Lia Heifetz
Food Sustainability Planner, Grow Southeast / Sustainable Southeast Partnership, Juneau

Johanna Herron (ex-officio)
Farm to Institution Program Coordinator,
Alaska Department of Natural Resources,
Division of Agriculture, Palmer

Brian Himelbloom
Associate Professor, University of Alaska Fairbanks, School of Fisheries and Ocean Sciences, Kodiak

Elizabeth Hodges-Snyder
MPH Program Coordinator & Associate Professor, University of Alaska Anchorage, Department of Health Sciences, Anchorage

Lorinda Lhotka (Secretary)
Section Manager, Alaska Department of Environmental Conservation, Food Safety and Sanitation, Fairbanks

Rachael Miller
Director of Community, The Food Corridor and Assistant Professor of Business, Alaska Pacific University, Anchorage

Robbi Mixon                                    
Local Foods Director, Cook Inletkeeper (Alaska Food Hub & Alaska Farmers Market Association; Executive Director, Homer Farmers Market, Homer

Amy Seitz                                          
Executive Director, Alaska Farm Bureau, Soldotna

Melissa Sikes
Natural Resource Education Specialist, Fairbanks Soil and Water Conservation District, Fairbanks

Ryan Wiswesser (Co-Chair)
Owner, Alaska Artisanal and Chugach Chocolates, Girdwood